Veganism & Human Rights

Upon reflections on veganism, along with reading I have done and conversations I have had, it continues to confuse me as to why animal rights is the issue that has come to the forefront of the reasons to go vegan. I agree that animal rights is a huge motivator; the spiritual circle of life is something really important, and it is good karma to not kill other living beings for no reason other than personal gain. However, why is it that we are showing that animal rights are more important than human rights? When first going vegan, I never considered the human rights aspect, only the animals, because that is what is mostly broadcasted/publicized. Initially, I never thought about the impact that the meat and dairy industries have on humans. Everyone is at least somewhat aware of the injustices against animals, but why aren’t the injustices against the human workers in those industries more well known? Workers in the meat and dairy industries are subject to a multitude of injuries, physically from the equipment, and mentally/ emotionally from the work they are doing. So why aren’t those things more exposed as a way to educate people to go vegan? I think we need to start caring about advocating for human rights just as much as we care about advocating for animal rights.

Leave a comment